South America Week 7

August 23rd – 11:00

Is it just me who finds it really inconsiderate when you arrive as the lone stranger to a party and nobody really makes an effort to make conversation with you. That’s how I felt last night as we went for a few drinks with Lara’s coworkers. We ended up staying there until about 3am which was later than anticipated but I guess that’s the Argie way!
This was after another super chill day in Uruguay relaxing by the riverside. I felt well and truly rested up when I arrived back! It’s already midday and I feel so disorientated.

August 24th – 20:00

And here we are at the end of my stint in BA, which is overly depressing. I don’t really want to leave the safety and comfort of living with Lara’s. The last week has been great and I am struggling to build up the motivation for the final couple of weeks, despite Iguazu being a part of it.
Lara and I took a visit to La Boca yesterday (which oddly reminded me of a colourful St Mary’s) as there was a Tango festival on. Sadly we had got things wrong but we still watched some and I got to see Boca’s stadium. There were also many Maradona statues (I feel personally insulted seeing him everywhere).
That evening we were invited to a BBQ with the Black Birds. It took an AGE to get there (I forget how big the city is) but we ate so bloody well. I am so glad they were here to welcome me. Unfortunately training was cancelled today due to a LOUD thunderstorm overnight so I never got to say goodbye to them.
Instead, Lara and I visited the Casa Rosada (Presidential House) which included a visit to Kirschner’s own office which was pretty cool.

August 26th – 18:00

Iguazu you absolute beauty. 2nd Wonder of the World that I have seen on this trip. My bus got in an hour early so i duly bought my tickets to the falls and set straight. Who do I see on bus? My friend Yuliya from Barton Peveril who I haven;t seen for 4 years. After discovering we would both be in Iguazu together, we had planned to eat dinner tonight but ended up bumping into her in the morning.
This was a great stroke of luck as I now had both someone to talk to and someone to take photos of me! As we wandered around, catching up and marvelling at some of the views – including a rainbow in the middle of the lake – I was shocked at how amazing it was.
We then paid for a 15 minute boat trip UNDERNEATH the waterfall. Never have I spent a better £10 as it was such an adrenaline rush and we got soaked TO THE BONE. Not really something I can describe well apart from saying it was bloody awesome.
We picked up a Kiwi, Leanne and took a trek to a waterfall where you could swim. We were already cold and tired so just admired the wildlife. We saw possums, a crocodile and plenty of monkeys. WHAT A DAY!

August 27th – 14:00

I’m in Brazil! 5th country in South America ticked off the list. 2nd wonder of the world seen. Another criminal wad of cash spent but my word was it worth it!
This was after a fun adventure yesterday evening though… Searching for my Couchsurfing flat (I haven’t told Mum yet – surprise!) at 9pm in the dark, panicking slightly, I dropped my phone. SHIT! It cracked the entire screen and part of it actually fell off. I was absolutely mortified. Thank all that is holy it still works perfectly fine. I finally arrived at Dario’s place and he seems to be a really cool guy!
The Brazilian side was definitely the best. There were much fewer people and you got to walk into the Garganta del Diablo. It makes you feel so small but is such an outrageous adrenaline rush. Words (and certainly my photos won’t do it justice).
The afternoon was spent in the local bird sanctuary which was beautiful and full of local exotic birds. I got a photo with a toucan and a parrot! I also learned an important lesson today: I have an irrational fear of birds. Sure, they’re great to look at, but less great zooming over your head.

August 29th – 12:30

Once again, I chose to skip diary writing yesterday in order to have more to do on this journey. I have just got on my 22 hour bus to Cordoba and it is PLUSH. My own cosy and TV at the front. RESULT. Even better, I just discovered the bus has its own wifi (a traveller’s best friend).
Anyway, after my last post, I spent the evening of the 27th being super international – Dario, Brambi, Edouard and I went to one of their friends (a couple of Spaniards) with a couple of bottles of wine as they cooked us a SPanish tortilla. It was very nice indeed and excellent Spanish practice to boot. I have recently noted a real improvement in my speaking and I was even told I have started speaking like I’m from BA, ché!
Yesterday began with a real panic for Yuliya as the national strike caused her flight to Rio to be cancelled. After managing to find a replacement bus, we split up and I headed to Guira Ora, the animal rescue centre. It was a gorgeous little place but I would maybe suggest not worth the money as the animals weren’t as wild as I had expected. Also, the guide seemed to find the danger the animals were in a little too funny for my liking… I did, however, meet a delightful woman from Oregon who have me her email and offered me a place to stay if I was ever there!
Another couple of bottles of wine, coupled with the fajitas I cooked (the least I could do) made for another good evening last night. All in all, my first CS experience was a very positive one. Dario will be getting a great review from me!

My mate Diego

My mate Diego

The Presidential house

The Presidential house

IMG_4094 IMG_4121 IMG_4134

Iguazuuuuu

Iguazuuuuu

IMG_4188 IMG_4240

Leave a comment